Big Kahuna x4

Friday night, July 5 we traipsed down to the Van Nuys Masonic Center for the San Fernando Valley York Rite Four Way Reception.  (I think that wins for “longest event title”!)  There were men in jackets of every color there.  (Ok, maybe just four or five colors, but it’s a bright evening!)

We were treated to a great dinner,

complete with entertainment…

(Classical and jazz guitar is one of my favorites..could listen to it all night!)

and cake…mmmm, cake.

Then we all retired to the lodge room where the reception was held.   Then we played “Heeeeere’s Becky~!”

(Y’all.  I have worn those shoes of hers.  I don’t know how she stays upright.  She’s a better man than I!  Truly!)

There were quite a few remarks, and also quite a few introductions!  One poor guy had to run and change jackets about five times because he was in so many different organizations.  I think maybe we should invest in a jacket for him with a purple sleeve, green sleeve, red front and black back?  Always good to see guys who are involved!

And look..MW JLo was apperantly choked up.  Or he had something in his eye.  Not sure which, but I’m glad it resolved itself in time for his remarks!

 

 

All in all, it was a really nice evening, with a lot of really great people.  I admit, I don’t know all that much about the York Rite Bodies in terms of their titles and customs, but they do what they do with a great flair!  Our sincere thanks to everyone who hosted the event, it’s not an easy one to pull off with so many moving parts to coordinate. 

Miles 104  Total mileage 51,794

About lcinsunnysocal

Just a girl finding her way...a mom, a wife, a volunteer. Read the "Star Thrower" and you'll understand my personal philosophy and motto: "It matters to this one..."
This entry was posted in concordant and associated bodies, mileage, Senior Grand Warden, travels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment