The Journey Begins

“I got the call from Bill Bray.”

That was how the conversation started.  Alissa and I were at a gymkhana event in Fillmore, and Russ was calling me on my cell phone.  I asked “what call”, because it wasn’t on my radar in the least.  Russ replied “They want me.”  and I said “for what?”

The my mind clicked, and I figured, oh, ok…this is the Grand Treasurer’s position.   Glenn is retiring, and Russ a natural for the job.  He’s worked well with the Finance and Investment committees for years, and worked so closely with Glenn.  He respects Glenn so much, and I’m sure he’ll do a great job if he simply does what he does so well..be true to himself and also emulate those he admires.

Then he said “For the Recommendee.”

“What?”  (and I think I might have included a PG-13 rated word in that sentence too, I’m pretty sure it wasn’t just “What?”  But anyway.)

I stood there in Fillmore, my feet in horse manure, covered with Wonder’s hair, waiting for Alissa to pick up her “High Point” ribbon, and sort of had a conversation with Russ.  I don’t remember much of it.  I think maybe I went blind and deaf for a few moments.

“Twenty Minutes.  Bray needs to know in twenty minutes.”

Oh my god.  I had to hang up on the poor man, and call him back.  I had to take care of some stuff there at the equestrian center, and I may or may not have had a look about me that said “Hey, if I get dizzy, will you pick me up?”

After a few minutes, I called him back.  We talked for a few moments, trying really hard to find the down side of his accepting the nomination.  It will be a challenge to be completely present parents for Alissa, but if we remain “true north”, of course nothing else will happen.  She’s our priority, and always will be.  She’s so strong and capable and will gain so much from an experience like this, …and that fear faded away.

As we talked, and the advantages loomed large in our minds, I got tears in my eyes, and a lump came to my throat.  All the wonderful, amazing, miraculous, G0d-touched moments that are afforded to a man in his position, and to his family through him, came to mind.

After that, there was no question.  I left it completely in his hands, if this was what he wants to do, we will take this amazing journey together.  Like we always do.  I always “go along for the ride”, because it’s always an amazing ride, and it’s always “true north”.  I’m so grateful and lucky to be married to a man who not only does amazing things, but teaches me and his children and the people around him that if they hitch their wagon to his star, the sky is the limit.

This means that Russ will be nominated as Junior Grand Warden in October, and if elected he will then progress to being Grand Master in 2014.  We were married on the 14th, Alissa was born on the 14th.  Sensing a trend?

We got wonderful, supportive, loving “telephone hugs” from many, including Ken Nagel, Linda Bray, Larry Adamson, Alan Casalou and of course, an “in person” visit from Mom and Dad.

And then the thinking began.  The hyper-speed, run-away-train, “oh-my-goodness” thinking.  So much to do.  So many plans to make.  So many wonderful people to add to our family.  We took a vow to each other that this will bring us closer, and we already have our list of “do it like they did”, and the future is bursting with ideas and promises.

Hang on, it’s going to be a wild ride!  (And how is THIS different from the last 20 years?)

About lcinsunnysocal

Just a girl finding her way...a mom, a wife, a volunteer. Read the "Star Thrower" and you'll understand my personal philosophy and motto: "It matters to this one..."
This entry was posted in home fires, Recommendee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment